Video of the Webster Technique

This was pretty cool. I’ve heard about the Webster Technique, to help a malpositioned baby to turn into a good position — usually from transverse or breech into vertex, but this is the first time I’ve seen it done. Well, actually, I’ve seen the “pretzel” (as my mom calls it) numerous times, since that’s what my mom’s chiropractor usually does on her every visit. Although it looks exactly the same, I’m not sure if there is some slight difference not noticeable to my untrained eye, between what my mom’s chiro does and what this video shows as “the Webster Technique.”

8 Responses

  1. Thanks for posting this. Very good information. My sister-in-law is 8 months pregnant and the baby is tranverse. I’m sending her this link.

  2. Don’t have time to watch the video right this second, and I’m NOT a chiro so insert a grain of salt, but one of the main differences with the Webster Technique is that they work not only on the spinal/pelvic alignment, but they also work on balancing and releasing the soft tissues around the area…..specifically the round ligament. Helps release tension on the ligaments that support the uterus. Usual chiro care doesn’t always include that kind of soft tissue work.

    I think the Webster technique needs to be accompanied by a check of the pubic symphysis and work on the other ligaments in the area too, but not all chiros do this automatically because it’s not a comfortable or emotionally easy place to check or adjust.

    I have a whole FAQ about chiropractic care in pregnancy which answers some common questions about the Webster Technique. It’s on my website at http://www.plus-size-pregnancy.org.

    • Ok, thanks, Kmom! I’ve heard of “The Webster Technique,” but never had it spelled out as to what, exactly, it was. In the video, the chiro does the “pretzel” back-crack which evens up the mother’s legs, and then does feel the ligament. I’ve seen the pretzel countless times, but not the ligament stretch. It almost seemed in the video that the ligament stretch was just an addendum or an after-thought, rather than an integral part of “The Webster Technique.” One of my chiro-birth friends had mentioned checking the pubic area (the symphysis probably, but possibly the ligaments), and noted that many people are uncomfortable with it because it is a rather private area of the body.

  3. I forgot to add that the Webster Technique helped me have an anterior baby (and a VBAC) after 2 pregnancies of persistent posterior babies and resulting cesareans.

    Baby #3 was persistently posterior (despite OFP) throughout pregnancy until I visited a chiro at 36 weeks and had this technique done. Within an hour, he turned anterior, for the first time in 3 pregnancies.

    Had a couple of follow-up treatments and 2+ weeks later I had a VBA2C.

  4. Ohhh, I almost felt instantly better just WATCHING that video! I am a HUGE supporter of chiropractics during pregnancy. We have an AMAZING chiro that works on our family. My #2 was transverse up until 2 days before I went into labor, while he did flip after an adjustment, I wasn’t a lucky one that had it happen after 1 appt….more like 3 months of appointments!

    She has helped immensely with my sciatica and even with the “achy pubic bone” — yeh it was weird having her adjust me “there”, what a RELIEF it was to walk NORMAL again!!

    She even jump-started my labor for me after about 6 hours of it being stalled. I could go on all day. We love our chiro. lol🙂

  5. I had the webster technique done about 6-7 times for a persistent breech-position baby. For me, it was not successful. BUT (and a huge but), it does have a high success rate for turning breech/transverse babies (at about 80-90%). The chiro I saw said that every mother w/ a breech or transverse position baby she treated had their baby turn except if there was something preventing the baby from turning. Example: she had a mom a few months before me (who also had my same doula) who’s breech baby did not turn and was discovered to have a triple-cord wrap when the c-section was performed.

    In my case, I knew I had serious pelvic alignment problems and prior to my c/sec, there appeared to be no obvious reason why my baby couldn’t turn head-down. But during the section, my OB said our baby was wedged very tightly in the left side of my pelvis and there was literally the sound of suction releasing as he lifted her out of my uterus. (Side note: in addition to the webster technique, I tried about every low tech method to turn her vertex, plus had an external version done at 37 weeks.) During my previous pregnancies, I had continual chiropractic care throughout. But this past pregnancy, we were not in a financial position to do so. Shortly after my c-section, I had some chiropractic care for back/pelvic pain. Looking at my xrays, my pelvic was severely tilted and I do believe that contributed to our baby getting “stuck” in a malposition.

    I am a big proponent of chiropractic care for pregnant women, even throughout the duration of their pregnancy if they can afford it. And yes, I echo the previous comments that the webster technique is successful in helping OP babies turn into a better position. Also, my chiro did the soft tissue work like described in the previous comments and at the first adjustments, she found my uterine ligaments to be extremely tight and off-balance. Even though our baby couldn’t turn head down, the webster technique brought tremendous relief to my lower back pain and groin pain.

  6. Also, the chiro that does cranio-sacral work on our baby was telling me that having chiropractic care before and early on in pregnancy can influence where the placenta implants, etc.

  7. I am 31 1/2 weeks with a transverse baby. In addition to exercises to do, my midwife gave me referrals to chiropractors that specialize in the Webster technique. This video was helpful to give me a preview as to what to expect at my appt. I have had some hip, leg and pelvic floor pain in this pregnancy, so it makes absolute sense to me that misalignment may be what’s preventing my baby from moving to the optimal position. I will repost to let you know how successful my chiropractor is. At the least, I hope to have some discomfort go away.

Leave a Reply

