Circumcision Aftermath

A few months ago, I wrote a post entitled Circumcision Guidelines. One of the people who commented was Akram, who said this:

I am a Muslim.I was forcibly circumcised at the age of eight.I was lying in a ward full of women and children after my circumcision.The experience scarred me deeply.It led to great psychological trauma and behavioural problems in later life.I can write in greater detail if you like,Kathy.

I asked him if he wanted to write me, and I could include it as a post, and he consented, saying this:

I was eight years old when I was circumcised.Circumcising an older boy is particularly problematic as he feels a lot of shame and pain.I suppose,for an infant it is simpler,though still not desirable.
I was taken to a hospital to be circumcised.Some hints had already been dropped.I had a vague idea that my penis would be cut,but did not know how.A very shy child,I had refused.So when the day came,I was informed that it was for a medical check up.At least my circumcision was performed under anaesthesia and by a surgeon,so it was safe.However,when I regained consciousness,I was on a stretcher,my penis was heavily bandaged and I was lying in a ward full of children and women.Most children are circumcised as infants,so it was a fairly novel experience for them too to see that this had been done to an older boy.I was extremely angry and embarrassed.I had felt as if I had been violated.This was child molestation.This was akin to rape.Hundreds of people knew what had been done to me.They talked about it,they made jokes about it.When the bandages came off,I could not accept what had happened.Even now when I look at my penis,it feels unnatural.I have never forgotten it though a very long time has passed.If people must do it to their kids,at the very least they should spare them the shame by getting it done as quickly as possible.

He has also posted comments on other circumcision posts:

Kathy,this was very informative.I’d like to add here that I had a foreskin until I was eight years old.Never had any problems with hygiene.My foreskin,mercifully was not retracted forcibly.I did not see my glans until my circumcision.Many years after my circumcision,my penis feels raw and sore where it was cut.Also feels dry.Yet another reason not to circumcise.

~

It is really tough when circumcision is done for religious reasons.It becomes so much harder to avoid then.No rational arguments work.Every boy has to undergo this mutilation perforce then.It is not only cruel,it is also illogical.

~

Excellent arguments Kathy.Circumcision can be botched so easily.I have read of one boy who was mutilated to such an extent that he had to undergo a sex change operation and was brought up as a female.When he grew up,he had another sex change operation to become a male.Imagine the trauma.His whole life destroyed just because of circumcision !

5 Responses

  1. I was circumcised as an infant and I feel violated by having part of my body cut away from me. I cannot imagine how Akram feels having his circumcision performed as a youngster, when he knew what he had and could sense its loss. As he describes, it is terrible.

    We must stop genital cutting of all children. Everybody deserves to have their whole, healthy body.

    • Every child deserves to have his whole body,but a great majority of them just don’t have any choice.The psychological impact of this barbaric procedure is great.It began in primitive societies,practiced as an initiation right.Then it became religious.In many parts of the world,circumcision is performed using unsterilised instruments.Many people have even died as a result.

  2. I have always been on the fence with this, thinking it didn’t matter too much. But after the last Trust Birth Conference, I have a different view. We are basically performing cosmetic surgery on babies who are just a few days old. What a crazy thing to do.

    I get upset that they don’t tell moms the real pros and cons of cesarean. I don’t remember anyone telling me the risks of circumcision before my boys were circumsized. I regret having done it and encourage the parents I teach to RESEARCH it before making a choice.

  3. Thanks for posting it,Kathy.I’ve always found it remarkable how easily people accept male circumcision,no questions asked.Female circumcision is condemned strongly and rightly so.But the hazards of male circumcision must be highlighted,it is not just a “routine procedure” as most people think of it .You are doing a great job.

  4. ………. There is a movement of Jews who are questioning circumcision, and working to end this abuse of children. The movement ranges from the Orthodox to the secular, and includes mothers, fathers, scholars, historians, medical professionals, activists, and intellectuals.

    Jewish Groups for Genital Integrity

    Circumcision: A Jewish Feminist Perspective by Miriam Pollack
    http://www.noharmm.org/pollack.htm

    Jewish Intactivist Miriam Pollack has some great commentary on Foreskin Man in this recent interview.
    http://www.beyondthebris.com/2011/07/defying-convention-interview-with_27.html

    Jews Speak Out in Favor of Banning Circumcision on Minors
    http://intactnews.org/node/103/1311885181/jews-speak-out-favor-banning-circumcision-minors

    * Brit Shalom Celebrants by Mark D. Reiss, M.D. http://www.circumstitions.com/Jewish-shalom.html

    * Questioning Circumcision: A Jewish Perspective by Ron Goldman, Ph.D. http://www.jewishcircumcision.org

    * The Current Judaic Movement to End Circumcision: Part 1
    http://intactnews.org/node/105/1311886372/jewish-voices-current-judaic-movement-end-circumcision-part-1 ……………..

Leave a Reply

