“A decision made out of fear is no decision at all”

I recently received the following comment, in response to a past post about multiple Cesareans. It provided much food for thought, so I wanted to share it so all my readers could see it.

I really appreciate this site and its boldness for spreading truth.

I have had 6 unnecessary c-sections. They have all been low-transverse and healed well. My first was due to malposition which could have easily been changed if I would have been “allowed” to move. I was dilated and effaced completely with no induction. My 2nd c-section was due to the nurse “accidentally” rupturing my membranes when I was only dilated to 7 and the baby not coming right away. How stupid of me to allow them to cut me again and not just wait. I had this baby over four years after my first. There was no reason at all to operate. My doctor was distressed!

My 3rd c-section was about 2 years later and was elective due to scare tactics. With my fourth pregnancy I was much more educated in the field of child birth and VBAC and was completely prepared to have this baby naturally. Everything went great until I went to the hospital. I was treated like a criminal preparing to commit murder. I dilated to 10 on my own, but was still harassed and harassed until finally forced to have a c-section. During this operation my fascia was not put back together and I had a bulge the size of a small water balloon below my navel. I still suffer from this operation that was performed over 8 years ago. My 5th c-section was performed after finding a doctor who I felt supported me. I dilated again to 10. The baby was even descending into the birth canal. I had a nurse that was extremely nervous and told me I was taking too great of a risk. She frightened the dr and he demanded that I have another c-section. During this c-section the doctor nicked the main artery that connects my left fallopian tube to my uterus. I almost died from blood loss in this operation. I needed at least 2 or more transfusions and I had to spend the entire night in the ICU without my baby boy. It was horrible!!! That was considered the “safe” option….a c-section! My 6th c-section was in April 07. It was planned and I had a wonderful birthing experience. The doctor treated me human and cared very much for me. He told me that my uterus looked great and I was ready for baby #7. He knew we wanted a big family. That was in Germany.

So, here I am now…I am in TN. I am almost 30 weeks pregnant and still have not even seen a OBGYN. This is the first time I feel very frightened about the medical system. I have been in contact with a Dr. via phone and email. She is a Dr/Midwife and we are seriously considering a Home birth. This is where I am now thanks to the abuse I have received in the hospitals. I am a woman wanting to have a baby. I want to be treated like a human not like an atomic bomb waiting to go off. I have read and read and read both sides…I know the risks. I am concerned about the safe delivery of my baby. But I have been frightened away from medical staff…There is so much more to my story. But, it would be too long to write here. I have been abused emotionally and physically. I feel I have been violated and have lost my body to a system…an evil system that believes that having a baby is a medical condition. Having a baby is not a medical condition. It is a normal, natural, God-given process that man has perverted and taken control over. Allow woman to just have their baby in a peaceful and safe environment. Leave us alone! If there is an emergency, we are thankful to have the medical staff…but until then, please let us be and let us give birth! The doctor does not need an enema every time he has to use the rest room and women do not need any interventions or inductions to have their babies!!!!!

Sincerely,

A woman who just wants to give birth not have an operation,
Angela
PS. A decision made out of fear is no decision at all!!!!!

3 Responses

  1. Lord have mercy.

    Angela, you have my thoughts and prayers. I am sorry what they have done to your body and emotions.

  2. I could empathize with Angela until she compared childbirth to taking a sh-t. Not cool.
    I will also pray for her and her choice to not seek prenatal care at 30 weeks, and for a possible homebirth after having 6 previous C-Sections. Those are her decisions and not in the hands of God.

  3. RR a homebirth for Angels is in the hands of God. She is at high high risk and you and I know it.

    I also know that you cannot easily turn a malpositoned baby. Believe me, I know every trick in the book and often after using them, we end up c-sectioning anyhow. Some kids will not turn.

    Nothing in medicine is for certain. People react differently. I sympathize with her plight but I don’t think she has all the information she needs to understand what happened to her. And that I sympathise with.

Leave a Reply

