I Dreamed a Dream

[This is completely unrelated to birth.] I saw this video from “Britain’s Got Talent,” and just had to share it. It was amazing. Her rendition of “I Dreamed a Dream” from Les Miserables actually moved me to tears. I can’t embed it, so just click on the link to go watch it.

If you don’t know the story of Les Mis, this song is sung by Fantine (pronounced “Fahnteen”) who was a beautiful young woman knocked up by a rich but worthless young man who deserted her after their summer together. Left with a child she couldn’t care for, she eventually became a prostitute to try to make ends meet, and finally left her child with an innkeeper and his wife, thinking they would take care of her. Instead, they made the child work like a slave, and sucked money from Fantine by continually telling her the child was at death’s doorstep and desperately needed money to pay the doctor to save her life. Fantine sold her locket, her hair, and herself, finally dying of pneumonia or tuberculosis, and thinking her little girl was also going to die. This song is what she sings when she surveys her broken and miserable life, so different from what she had imagined when she was being courted by the handsome young man. Ah, so sad.

I’ve not seen the musical production of Les Mis, but I did see the concert that they made of it some 10-12 years ago that aired on PBS and was made available on tape (the actors were in their costumes, with some of the backdrops, but they did not “act” per se, but rather just sang). This woman sang as well as the woman who played Fantine in the show. Incredible — even Simon Cowell enjoyed it!

4 Responses

  1. …and if the Almighty Simon likes it, lol😉

    It was amazing! I sat jaw-drooped the entire time. I did enjoy watching Simon’s initial reaction though – priceless🙂

  2. Yes, there at the end he says something like, “I knew we were going to hear something extraordinary… and I was right.” He may actually be telling the truth — that he thought it was going to be extraordinarily *bad*!🙂 I loved it!

  3. Les Mis is truly the most remarkable story there is. It is life changing. My husband is NOT a crier by any means. He read the 1200 page book of Les Mis and when he finished it he said he sobbed like a baby for over 20 minutes. It is a story of hope and repentance. AMAZING. There is a movie that does not do the full story justice but I LOVE it too. If you haven’t seen it get it. It starrs Liam Neesom. He did a great job.

  4. Les Mis is my favorite ficition book. I don’t have a minute count for how long I sobbed at the end (quite a long time, though). The entire book was so moving and shockingly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

