“My son is my science”

This quote is from Jenny McCarthy’s first interview on Oprah, when it was noted that “science” does not indicate a link between vaccines and autism. But she is absolutely convinced that in her son’s case, it was.

This video discusses some of the research done into this question, and flaws in the studies:

I have another thing in which my personal experience trumps science. Several years ago, I came to the conclusion that when I don’t drink enough water, I get headaches and I sleep poorly at night. Several months ago, I read an article about two doctors who “reviewed all the studies dealing with the healthy benefits of drinking lots of water,” and concluded that “there is a general lack of evidence” that drinking 8 8-oz glasses of water a day is either beneficial or harmful — specifically in four areas, including frequency of headaches. I respectfully disagree with them — at least in my case.

I don’t keep track of how much water I drink, but I know that on the days I use the gallon pitcher just to keep track, I have no problem finishing it. And if I get a headache (except on the rare occasion when I give myself a hard knock on the head), and I think back over the day, I realize that I haven’t drunk as much water as normal, and I drink one or two large glasses of water, and usually within 15 minutes or so, the headache is gone. A few years ago, both I and my husband had a headache at the same time, and he popped some ibuprofen or acetaminophen with a sip of water, and I belted back two glasses of water. Thirty minutes later, he still had a headache, while I had forgotten that I had even had one earlier.

It’s similar with insomnia. If I wake up in the middle of the night and can’t get back to sleep, invariably my mind begins to wander, and I begin to think how much (or little) water I drank. Unfortunately, if I drink a lot of water in the middle of the night, I wake up frequently to go to the bathroom; but if I don’t remedy the dehydration, then I just lie in bed awake. I figured out when I was pregnant four years ago that it was much better to wake up even 2-3 times a night and go pee and go right back to sleep, than to wake up once and be awake for hours and hours, even if I never had to go to the bathroom. So, the way I try to prevent that is to make sure I drink my necessary water (which I daresay is at least 3 quarts of water, instead of the recommended minimum of 2) before mid-afternoon, to avoid the middle-of-the-night bathroom runs. However, if I get to the close of the day and realize my water intake is low, I’ll drink two large glasses right then, because insomnia sucks!

So, apologies to Drs. Goldfarb and Negoianu, but I’m going to ignore their findings, and say, “I am my own science.”

One Response

  1. Did you read her Belly Laughs book? Your previous post reminded me of THAT book. She laughed at nutriton, pregnancy, birth, breastfeeding, and so much more. She did not take care of herself during pregnancy (and maybe before?). She is the last person in this world who should be blaming vaccines when there are so many confounding issues in her case.

    Optimistically, perhaps her son is her wake up call and her blessing as all children are.

    No, all I know of what she said is from her Oprah interview and the link I provided where she talks about it.
    -Kathy

Leave a Reply

