Should We Care How Beyoncé Gave Birth?

Update: after posting this, Beyoncé released a statement saying that she had a “natural” birth.

Right now, the blogosphere, facebook, and apparently the entire internet, are all on fire about how Beyoncé gave birth to her baby. Does it matter? Should we care? My answer is, yes… and no.

Celebrity is a two-edged sword. The same people that want tons of attention when it comes time to sell an album, star in a movie, or play a game, can’t just suddenly plead the interests of privacy, and desire inattention, when it comes to their personal lives. That sort of sucks, but there you are. I wouldn’t want to be stalked by paparazzi, either, and have every bad photo of me and my cellulite plastered over every tabloid, but for the most part, that is unfortunately the price to pay for celebrity. We can argue over whether it should or shouldn’t be, but the reality is, for the moment, that is what is.

I remember a reply by John Lennon, in an interview in which he and the rest of the Beatles were asked if they would like to be able to walk down the street without anyone recognizing them or without anyone causing an uproar; his response demonstrates that he understood the reality that he couldn’t have it both ways; he said: “We used to do that all the time, without any money in our pockets. Why would we want to go back to that?”

Beyoncé, and certainly every other celebrity, justly or unjustly are put under the microscope, and fortunately or unfortunately thousands of people will follow the example of one famous person. In that aspect, those of us who care about issues of birth and pregnancy, and especially those of us who support and promote vaginal birth, unmedicated birth, and/or home birth — “natural child birth” folks — are frequently (and rightly, I believe) dismayed at the high rate of C-sections, and what we perceive as almost the promotion of it in celebrity births.

So, thinking about how that many people (particularly today’s generation of teenage and young girls) may look up to Beyoncé, and possibly may be influenced by reports of her C-section, to plan on having their babies by C-section, it is possible that every celebrity C-section today may result in an increased percentage of C-sections in the future, and therefore, it does matter, and we should care about how others, particularly celebrities, give birth, because of that influence; and while Beyoncé’s C-section may have been the best choice for her (either for medical benefit/necessity or personal preference), and she may have no negative repercussions from it, almost everybody who takes an interest in birth realizes that C-sections as individual choices may be better, but C-sections as an aggregate tend to have worse outcomes for both mother and baby, particularly repeat pregnancies and C-sections.

Unfortunately, births don’t happen in aggregate — they happen to individuals. So, in dissecting birth as a whole, we end up trampling on individual births. This is one reason it’s so difficult to talk about many birth topics, such as C-section vs. vaginal birth, because no matter what you say, there will always be at least one person who said, “I did that, and it turned out horrible!” or “I did that, and it was the best decision I ever made!” Many women report that their C-sections were horrible, with nightmarish recoveries; and many other women report that their C-sections were a breeze; and some women who have had both C-section and vaginal births will say diametrically opposite things — that some found their C-sections to be easier recoveries, and others that their vaginal births were easier to recover from. Unfortunately, there is no 100% certainty in any decision made, no matter what, so women just have to choose what they believe to be best for them (and I hope that they will be given accurate information, and not pressured or coerced in any way).

I don’t know why Beyoncé made the choice she did, though there may have been some medical reason (I haven’t read any of the reports because, quite frankly, I don’t care; I’m not “into” pop culture, and she’s basically just a name to me, though I *think* she was in the Pink Panther movie with Steve Martin some years ago, and I did watch that). I did read this and this commentary on the blowback she has received, which, along with a few headlines, is the sum total of what I’ve read, and several people threw out in her defense that there may have been unreported medical reasons, such as pre-eclampsia or breech baby. I must admit that when I saw that she had had the baby already, I was a tad worried that the baby might be early [it seems just a month or two ago, I saw some headline about her being pregnant, so I thought at first it might be **really** early], and if she had an elective induction/section at or before 37 weeks, I was concerned on her baby’s account, because I know in aggregate, these early births are worse for the baby, though in particular, it may not be horrible for any individual baby. Also, someone suggested that they intentionally gave the wrong due date, to avoid increased press scrutiny at the time of the correct due date, and the baby may have been 40 weeks, or possibly even over 42 weeks, instead of the reported 37 weeks.

Whatever. I don’t care. I really don’t.

I don’t care why she chose it, whether there was a true medical need, too posh to push, desire for being able to schedule the birth, the belief that it was safer, the desire for privacy, or whatever her reason(s) were. [Although I must admit, that if there was a real medical reason, I hope it will be told, because I think the last thing our society needs is another high-profile celebrity having a medically unnecessary C-section, and making it look like it's the smarter, better, easier choice.] For Beyoncé as a person, it makes no difference; for her as a celebrity with influence, it does make a difference to the thousands she may influence.

Her desire for privacy could be the sole reason for choosing a C-section, and I would understand that. I’m not a celebrity, so I can’t pretend to have the same knowledge base or experiences a celebrity has, but I have a pretty good imagination, coupled with sufficient knowledge of the paparazzi and how they work. What wouldn’t one of these people do, to get a picture of Beyoncé in labor, giving birth, having a C-section, holding her baby, or anything else related to this time? It would be pretty hard to impersonate a labor nurse or otherwise infiltrate the L&D floor, but it could be done, by someone with the knowledge and desire to do it. However, it could be easier to pay off an employee to break regulations and get such a picture. Also, put yourself into a celebrity’s place, and imagine trying to relax through the contractions, or push your baby out, with the fear that somebody somewhere had planted a hidden camera and/or microphone, and would be selling it for thousands upon thousands of dollars to some tabloid magazine somewhere. Yeah, that would make renting out a hospital floor and scheduling a C-section more appealing to me, too.

I also don’t have a problem with her renting out the entire floor — it’s her money, she can spend it as she wishes. I’d spend it differently, but that’s me; this is her choice — she can do with it whatever she wants, as long as it isn’t harming anybody else and is not illegal.

Ah, but there’s the rub, isn’t it? Her choice to take over the hospital floor *did* harm others — apparently there were many stories from parents who were not allowed to visit their babies in the NICU, because of this. She went to such lengths to choose what she felt was best for herself and her baby, but in so doing, the rights of other parents to even see their fragile newborns (most of them probably preemies, many of them with serious, even potentially lethal, conditions) was trampled on. It is my hope that she didn’t know what was happening, and when she chose to rent the entire floor so that she could have privacy, that she did not intend for other parents to be separated from their precious babies.

One of the articles I linked to above was sarcastically “Beyoncé Must Be a Terrible Mother” [it was a collection of various comments from people on facebook, reacting to the news that she had had a C-section, though no reason was stated, and that she had rented out an entire hospital floor to do so], and I agree with the blogger’s point of view — that having a C-section, even a medically unnecessary one, does not make one a bad mother. However, I would say, that keeping parents from their children does make you at best an unthoughtful human. I don’t say that’s Beyoncé’s fault; I think that was the hospital’s fault, plain and simple. Even if Beyoncé knew that many parents would be separated from their NICU babies and didn’t care (which would be pretty heartless, if true), it is still the hospital’s ultimate responsibility, so I lay most if not all of the blame at their feet, because the hospital folks should have known what the result would be, and they chose to put money and fame (having Beyoncé pick *them* to have her baby in), over principles, and also over the benefit of the many parents, who likewise entrusted their births and their babies to this hospital, and deserved more consideration.

5 Responses

  1. You’re blogging!!! You need to do this more often!!! :)

  2. The same people that want tons of attention when it comes time to sell an album, star in a movie, or play a game, can’t just suddenly plead the interests of privacy, and desire inattention, when it comes to their personal lives.

    Why not? The only thing you are entitled to is their work product, not their personal lives.

    As I said, we can argue about whether it should be this way, but this is the way that it is. I consider it a price of fame.

  3. I would be happier if I did NOT know how Beyonce had her baby. My own CS experiences were so traumatic that I have spent the last 30+ years of my life helping women (as a doula) have the birth they desire. None of my clients has picked CS as their desired birth but some have elected far more full of interventions than I would have chosen. I had my CSs so long ago I had no help with making evidence based choices and very little hope of getting things done my way.
    I am not a Beyonce fan either since I think she is too sexually provocative in dress and dance. She is so pretty she does not have to do that to be popular. Sigh.

    • After writing this, Beyoncé and her husband (Jay Z?) put out a statement that she had a “natural” birth. On facebook, someone said that in an interview several months ago, Beyoncé said she was planning an unmedicated birth. Either way, it appears that she did not plan to have a C-section.

  4. Like you, I couldn’t give a rats …. about Beyonce and her delivery. What I agree with is your comment regarding the hospital. The hospital should take full responsibility for blocking off a NICU for a celebrity. What makes her situation or baby any more special than yours or mine? Nothing except MONEY talks. She has it and so she paid the hospital. If she wanted so much privacy why didn’t she just set up her own little delivery room at her own residence? Her actions are selfish and as you eluded to inconsiderate of others. I say shame on her and her selfish thoughts and shame on the hospital for allowing that to take place.

    I LOVE your comment re John Lennon and why would he want to walk with empty pockets again. They can’t have it both ways!

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

