Twin VBA2C

This was a cool birth story! And it happened in a hospital. I know some of you are going to cringe that she even attempted a vaginal birth after two cesareans; others may be worried about her having a vaginal birth of twins (with or without a C-section). But even leaving that aside, it was a great story.

On some nurse’s blog recently, I read that they had a surprise twin VBAC — the VBAC was planned, but two babies were a surprise — and the blogger said that twin pregnancy is a contraindication to VBAC. I’m assuming because the uterus is stretched larger to accommodate two babies, thus thinning the uterus more than usual, but I’ll have to look that up. Anybody have any research on that? It makes sense, but then some things that ought to make sense don’t always pan out. The doctor who attended the birth didn’t seem to think it was that big of a problem (or maybe that part was not included in the story).

All in all, I enjoyed reading the story. Very cool for her to discover (with the help of a great L&D nurse) that her body actually worked!

5 Responses

  1. Thanks so much for sharing. I’ve never seen this site before.

    This quote really struck me:
    “some are as close together as 2-3 minutes… having never been in labor before I am a little freaked at this and start debating waking hubby up and heading to hospital. I don’t want to go in to soon but also don’t want to wait too long… that was SO frustrating to me… I found I was angry at my previous OB that I had no clue how to read my own body because I had never gotten to this point before.”

    It’s almost my baby’s first birthday and I was thinking similar thoughts today. I never knew how frustrating it would be to try a VBAC having never been in labor before. Everyone expects you to know what’s going on because you’ve already had a baby. The stakes are so high with a VBAC. I wish it wasn’t that way.

  2. Hi…

    I’m the woman that did the twin VBA2C. While some doctors say twins are a contraindication there is little to no data on it because so few women attempt it due to the fears of OBs. Unfortunately more and more twin births (with or without a previous section) are becoming c-section due to doctors fears and desires to control. In fact in Canada (where I live) they are strongly recommending ‘multiples’ become automatic c-section at 37 weeks. Sad if you ask me.

    As far as twins making it higher risk – my OB said it gave him a few more things to pay attention to but as long as I was feeling fine, ultrasounds showed continued growth etc there was no reason to think that twins increased the risk all that much. Some other OBs in the practice had issue with it and kept bringing it up but they couldn’t back it up with data. As my OB kept saying to me and his colleagues (That thought we were insane by the way) – I had greater odds of being hit by a car crossing the hospital parking lot than rupturing AND most ruptures happen during pregnancy NOT labor. He just flatly refused any form of induction – if I wanted vaginal I HAD to do it myself :-) Not an issue for me…

    If you have any questions feel free to contact me – I don’t mind sharing my story – if it helps anyone avoid a section they don’t want then I am all for it.

  3. Hi! I’m just wondering if you can tell me more about your twin vba2c?
    I’m from Australia. I had a vba2c for my 3rd son in 2008. I’m currently 12 wks pregnant with twins and would love to pursue a natural birth for them. I could do with any encouragement/advice on this as I know I’ll probably be up against some negative theories from obs.
    Thanks so much for your story! It was very uplifting and I hope to hear more of it!

    • Hi Lisa – sorry I didn’t get back earlier… I don’t get nearly as much time on the computer as I used to :-) What do you want to know? The birth story that is linked at the top tells most of the story. If you are curious as to what I did to prepare – I got lots of sleep (stopped work at 35 weeks), ate clean (pretty much the diet in the book “having twins”) and walked 30-60 minutes a day without sunglasses on. The sun hitting the eye directly is key for at least 30 minutes a day (according to my OB and a midwife I consulted). Rest and more rest was key for me. I was so very tired the last few weeks that one errand would tire me out. I went to 38 w 5 days. The other key for me was going into labour naturally, NO induction allowed because we needed to know my body was ready. Hope this helps – if not let me know what you want to know and I’ll try to help :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

