100,000 Hits Party and Giveaway!!

Today, I reached 100,000 hits on my blog stats!  That’s really cool! I’m so excited!! In honor of the occasion, I am going to be doing my first give-away:

a copy of the book Breastfeeding with Comfort and Joy: A Photographic Guide for Mom and Those Who Help Her, by Laura Keegan!

Trust me, you do want this book!

Here is the review I wrote when I first read the book, and you can read other glowing reviews at Stand and Deliver as well as at Permission to Mother. In addition to what I wrote previously, I just want to add that the quality of the book is reflected, not just in the beautiful and sensitive photographs of nursing mothers and babies, nor just in the clear language of the book, but also in the high-quality paper used to print the book. Handling the book is like touching a work of art — the paper itself is that good! In many ways, it’s more than just a book — it’s a celebration of the beauty and normalcy of breastfeeding. Many women give up breastfeeding because of difficulty breastfeeding, pain while breastfeeding, a lack of support, or other factors, but this book gives support, guidance, and encouragement to nursing mothers, which in turn greatly benefits their babies.

Now, onto the rules…

I will pick one winner at random from all entries received, and you can have more than one entry, to increase your chances. Here are all the different ways to enter:

  • Blog about the giveaway, linking both to this post and the book’s website: www.BreastfeedingwithComfortandJoy.com. Because Breastfeeding with Comfort and Joy is self-published, it’s only available at the BreastfeedingwithComfortandJoy website.
    [If you have more than one blog, you can write a post about the giveaway and get one entry for each blog!]
  • If you’ve read the book, write a review! If you’ve already written a review, link to it in your blog entry about the giveaway.
  • Add Laura Keegan’s breastfeeding blog to your blogroll, if you have a blog; and/or add it to your reading list, subscriptions, Google Reader, bookmarks, etc. — however you keep up with the blogs you read [if you do both, you'll get two entries]
  • Spread the word – share about the giveaway and/or the book on email lists, bulletin boards, as a comment on other blogs [but, please, not in a spammy way!], internet chat rooms, Facebook, MySpace, Twitter, Del.icio.us, Digg, Mixx, etc., etc.,  or just good old-fashioned phone calls or in-person conversations.

As you do these things, drop me an email at kathy_petersen_283 at yahoo dot com or leave a comment on this post letting me know you’ve done it. If you tell someone about the book — whether through the internet or in person — please tell me a little about why you mentioned the book — is your friend a fellow birth junkie? a mom who has had trouble breastfeeding in the past? expecting twins? a new mom? a pregnant cashier at the grocery store? your midwife or doctor, or your baby’s pediatrician?

There is no limit to how many entries you can have, so the more you tell others about the book, in any way of communication, the more entries you will get. BUT, this is very important — you must tell me that you’ve done it, in order for me to know that you’ve done it! :-) The contest will run for two weeks (closing at midnight of March 20), and I will pick the winner at random. I will put each person’s name on a piece of paper, one time for every entry, and will put all the paper in a hat or bowl, and pull out one piece of paper. I will announce the winner the following day.

Because Jill at The Unnecessarean gave me the idea to do this, she automatically gets an extra entry!

Good luck, everybody!!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

41 Responses

  1. Congratulations Kathy! That’s phenomenal!

    I just made a blog post and also linked to the book on FB.

    Keep up your amazing work! You’re a treasure :)

    Molly

  2. [...] birth bloggers, the fabulous Kathy of Woman-to-Woman CBE is celebrating her 100,000 hits with a giveaway. She is giving away a copy of the new book Breastfeeding with Comfort & Joy, which looks like a [...]

  3. Oops. Forgot to say that I’m interesting in this book because one of my roles in life is as a breastfeeding counselor. I help mothers in person, by phone, and by email with any and all breastfeeding questions!

  4. I have added it to my reader, posted in my blog and added to my blogroll! I’m also excited to find your blog through this contest :-)

  5. [...] away on my friends blog Go check it out here.   I love Kathy’s blog, because it has such great childbirth information.  Which I know [...]

  6. [...] check it out here.   I love Kathy’s blog, because it has such great childbirth [...]

  7. I would love to read this book, and from the great things I hear, I would love to own it. Since I may not get a chance to enter your drawing properly (it’s too late tonight to post on my blog about anything and tomorrow I will be gone all day to a women’s empowered health workshop), please tell me where to get it. I will just have to start saving up. (-:

    Anything that might help me help moms is good. I am a birth doula, and I have been disappointed when I could not provide sufficient help for a mom who was having trouble breastfeeding. I breastfed all mine well into toddlerhood, but helping another mom with a situation I never had to face was tough. I need more info to share.

    • Mama K,

      The book is available at http://www.TheBreastfeedingBook.com.

      But I have a two-week window for entries — until midnight of March 20 — so you still have time! Still, it would be great to buy the book — then if you win, you’d have one to keep and one to give or loan out. I think it makes a perfect baby shower present!

  8. Yeah!! You’re awesome, Kathy! You do realize that 99,700 of those hits are mine, though, right?

    I’ve been at a conference and offline for what feels like eons. I’ll FedEx you some guacamole and party hats and will post an entry on my blog, on Twitter and I’ll stumble this page. =)

  9. hi! Just posting a link to facebook to enter the awesome comp! It’s not easy starting a Doula resource library from scratch!
    Thanks for the opportunity – this blog roll thing is over my head, but you’ll be added to my fave’s list. Cheers.

  10. One of my friends has this book and its awesome. She’s a breastfeeding educator and lactivist. I’ve posted on my blog about your giveaway. Congrats on your 100,000 hits!

  11. I posted about the book and giveaway on:
    1. my blog
    2. my baby center birth board (June 2009)
    3. added her to my blogroll
    4. added the link to her blog and her site to my favorites
    5. posted a bulletin about the book and giveaway on my myspace page (myspace.com/ppd4u)
    6. posted about the book and giveaway on my facebook page

  12. I would like to learn more about breastfeeding. I’m trying to decide whether it’s worth it to go off my medications to do it.

    • KathyB,

      I absolutely think breastfeeding is worth doing. Of course, I don’t know which particular medicine(s) you are on, but you can discuss this question with the prescribing doctor, your pharmacist, your OB/GYN and your pediatrician, as well as read the sections that deal with medications in the book by Dr. Jack Newman called “The Ultimate Breastfeeding Book of Answers” and discuss those with your doctor(s). Many medications will have acceptable substitutes which will allow safe breastfeeding. There may be other books that deal with medications and breastfeeding, but this book was the first to pop into my mind.

      One problem that most doctors have is that they just don’t know whether a medication is safe to take while breastfeeding, and many of them will automatically tell breastfeeding moms to wean when they take any medication. My sister was told to wean when she took an antibiotic when her son was about 7 months old, so she did. But this particular medication is frequently given directly to babies as young as a few months old, so whatever would have ended up in her breastmilk was less than what her son would have been given had the pediatrician prescribed it for him.

      So, do your research and see if you really have to go off your medications, or if you can change medications, or even if it is safe to nurse your child while remaining on your medications.

  13. Hi Kathy -

    I’ve done as you’ve required in your contest rules, however, I don’t have a ‘blogroll’ since I use Livejournal. The only way to add someone to your LJ ‘friends list’ is for them to have a LJ account – or for there to be a syndicated RSS feed built.

    Since there wasn’t a syndicated feed for your journal, I created one – you can see it here. And I’ve created my blog post about the book, which also includes the new syndication link. Now LJ users can read your blog, too! (-:

  14. And one more post, then I’m done, I promise -

    There’s a LJ Syndication Promotional journal, where users can post newlycreated syndication feeds and discuss them. I’ve promo’d both of these blogs there.

  15. Hi, I found your contest from Stand and Deliver! I’m a birth doula, and very interested in promoting breastfeeding, as well as nursing my own daughter (and whatever siblings she may have in the future). I tweeted your contest, as well as subscribing to Ms. Keegan’s blog and adding her to my blogroll. I will also be adding your blog to my Reader and blogroll!

  16. [...] is doing a give away of this book.  Go check it out here.   I love Kathy’s blog, because it has such great childbirth [...]

  17. [...] breastfeeding book I mentioned a couple of posts ago?  Well, I’ve just learned that Kathy at Woman to Woman Childbirth Education is hosting a giveaway of this book.  The book, Breasfeeding with Comfort and Joy is by Laura [...]

  18. I just posted about the book and linked your review on a message board. I’d love to get a copy to build my bf book library – I’m starting up a bf support group in Lesotho and am gathering resorces. Thanks! :)

  19. This book looks great. I would love to win it. I added the link to my facebook profile!

  20. [...] you want to win this awesome book?  Click HERE to [...]

  21. Hi, I added the link to my Facebook Profile, and I Blogged about your giveaway.

  22. OK, I posted your giveaway in my two blogs:

    http://crimson-musing.livejournal.com/102594.html

    and

    http://lkbaby.com/

    I also linked the giveaway on Facebook, and added the Breastfeeding blog to my blogroll, my bookmarks, and my other RSS feed.

    I also attend a breastfeeding group meeting run by a professional lactation consultant and a social worker with an average attendance of 15 breastfeeding moms, and I’m going to share the news about this book with them.

    I also sent an email to my friend, a doula who owns a baby boutique asking if she would like to do a large order with me so that we can get this useful guide circulating.

    I also emailed my other friend who is aspiring to be a lactation consultant.

    I come in contact with BFing moms on a regular basis (especially since I am the local babywearing teacher, support person, and volunteer), and I will be happy to share this book with them.

    Thank you for the opportunity! ^__^

  23. Wow, Kathy! You’ve already got a ton of publicity on your contest! Congrats! I’ve posted it on both of my blogs – Birthing at Home and The Whining Puker.

    Congratulations on hitting the 100,000 mark! What an accomplishment!!!

  24. oooh, I am so excited about this book! I added the author’s blog to my reader as well :)

  25. Hey! I blogged about the contest here: http://kblog.theschellingerhoudts.com/2009/03/10/breastfeeding-book-giveaway/, added Laura’s blog to my feed reader, wrote a note on Facebook, AND wrote a note on a private forum I’m on – most of us are moms/moms to be who’ve nursed/are nursing/will nurse. I’ll be back, I’m sure, after mentioning it to some people!

  26. I posted your giveaway on my blog! I have also shared my birth story here:

    http://goodlifealways.blogspot.com/2009/01/lilahs-birth-story.html

  27. Congrats on 100,000 hits! I’ve got you posted on my blog.

  28. I am giving away a few giveaways as well to celebrate my 30th birthday! Come check it out!

    Just an FYI – after enjoying this book, I would donate it our local library. I don’t ever keep books for myself but instead share them with others.

  29. Hi again, also advertising it on my blog (see the left) with direct link.

  30. Hi, I added a post to my blog w/links to both your blog and the books website. I also subscribed to Laura’s posts and added her to my Blog roll. And I will be telling my friend Debbie about this since she owns a store that specializes in supplies for breastfeeding moms.

  31. I’m so excited about this book, I’ll have to get my hands on a copy one way or the other! I read the review or Rixa’s blog and it sounds like the book any new mother needs to read… I was unsuccessful in breastfeeding with my first two children (barely made it past 3 months at the most) and this third time I’m finally enjoying a strong breastfeeding bond with my baby at almost a year, without any plans to wean soon. I never knew what I was missing out on until this time…

    I hope your book will become routinely recommended to all moms by their friends, LCs, health care providers, etc. In this culture where we rarely see a nursing mother in public, having a book with good visual aids is essential…

    I blogged about the giveaway, added Laura’s website to my blogroll and Google Reader :)

  32. Would love to see this book! I posted on my blog…thanks =)

  33. Also, added to blog role…

  34. And sent email to 6 friends about book…thanks so much =)

  35. [...] Posts The Upside-Down World of BirthBreech birth video!100,000 Hits Party and Giveaway!!Lots of Birth VideosPro-life nurse sued for removing IUD without patient’s consentThe Umbilical [...]

  36. [...] Posts Breech birth video!100,000 Hits Party and Giveaway!!Post-birth reflectionsVery early miscarriage?… or “just late”?And the winner is….How many times [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

